Snyder Park Sprayground
The Ideal Location
The Friends of Snyder Park are building a sprayground to open July 2015!
The sprayground will include water features, shade canopies, six foot PVC coated benches and a brick retaining wall circling the perimeter of the space. The sprayground will use electronic controls to create a refreshing water experience for children. Water is re-circulated and sanitized as it travels through the system, which makes this an environmentally responsible addition to the park. The multiple water features are installed on a concrete pad with no standing water. Because this is a zero-depth pool, the sprayground is safe with no risk of drowning. The operation is automated, using nozzles and shower-type heads to distribute the water. Spraygrounds are cost-effective, safe, and handicapped accessible.
We are still accepting donations to the sprayground. Any money over and above what is needed for construction will be placed in an endowment for future maintenance and improvements of the sprayground equipment. Donations can be made online or by sending a check to our mailbox – PO Box 2653, Springfield, OH 45501
Located just blocks from downtown, Snyder Park was established in 1895 as a gift from local businessmen and philanthropists John and David Snyder. Designed by noted landscape architect Herman Haerlin, Snyder Park’s master plan featured 210 acres of pastoral charms and scenic vistas.
Many identify Snyder Park by its grand Romanesque entry arch designed by Robert C. Gotwald in 1904. Gotwald also designed the Park’s signature Mission-style boathouse and Craftsman-style rest house – both of which reside on serene Broadway Lake.
Much as New York’s Central Park provides residents with a respite from city life, Snyder Park provides Springfield residents with restive areas, scenic views and ample recreational opportunities. The park contributes not only to the quality of life in Springfield, but is a key component in the areas of economic development and tourism.
3rd Annual Snyder Park 5k/10k
Saturday, September 26, 2015, 9 a.m.
Thank you to our geese sponsors!